A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Home city guide meerut diocese

Meerut Diocese

The Roman Catholic Diocese is the ecclesiastical community which overlooks the administration of the religious province that comprises of many districts. Among other functions, the Diocese overlooks the religious administration and also runs several educational and charitable institutions, disaster management and welfare measures for the upliftment of the poor and needy sections of the community. The Meerut Diocese was formed in 1956, after it detached itself from the Archbishop of Agra. At present the Diocese of Meerut comprises of the districts of Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand that includes, Meerut, Muzzafarnagar, Jyotiba phule, Saharnapur, Dehradun, Haridwar, etc., among others.

Meerut diocese

The total area under the administration of Meerut Diocese is around 28,337 square kilometers. Owing to the fact that a large population of Christians are present in Meerut, Sardhana, etc., the Diocese of Meerut is involved in a number of social and charitable causes, besides the administration of the whole host of churches and religious institutions. The total population covered by the Meerut Diocese is close to 30 lakhs that includes the Christians and Muslims, Dalits and the underprivileged people of the nearby towns and villages speaking mainly Urdu, Hindi and Punjabi languages. The religious and the charitable institutions are managed by the sisters and brothers of the pastoral community. The Meerut Diocese is active in the following ministries and the institutions run by them are as follows:

Religious Institutions in Meerut

The Diocese is actively involved in the administration of the churches located in Meerut and its neighboring districts. Some of the churches that come under the purview of the Diocese of Meerut are.
  • The Churches of Our Lady of Graces, Sardhana
  • St. Thomas Church, Meerut
  • St. Joseph's Cathedral
  • St. Mary's Church Amroha
  • St. Peter's Church, Kankherkhera
  • St. Antony's Church, Hapur etc.

Social Welfare Organizations in Meerut

The Diocese of Meerut is involved in a number of social welfare programs and run charitable institutions in the city of Meerut and its surrounding districts. The schools for the handicapped, welfare homes for the poor and needy, Missionaries of Charity, Homes for the Mentally disabled children are some of the institutions that are run by the Diocese for the upliftment of the poorer sections of the society. The social welfare centres run by the Diocese are-

Meerut Seva Samaj
Sardhana Road,Kankerkhera,P.B. No.75

Nayee Asha
Ashapuram,Daurala -P.O
Telephone: 9760447778

Sahayini Social Work Society
Convent of Our Lady of Graces,
Sardhana - P.O, Meerut

Home for the Physically Handicapped
Asra Bhavan
C/o Christu Jyoti Convent,
Telephone: 0121-2221006

Anand Bhavan
Mariam Nagar,Meerut Road
Telephone: 0120-2870211
Home for the Aged

Prem Niwas
Missionaries of Charity,
Church Street, 85, Hill Street, Meerut
Telephone: 0121-2651150

The Meerut Diocese are involved in a whole host of other social welfare programs such as providing free advice and legal counseling for the poor. Through its innovative program "Asha Kiran" the Diocese aims to help the prisoners of the local jails. Several activities are taught to the prisoners with the motive to help built a self sustaining future once they are out of the prison.

Address: Bishop's House, 283 Rourkee Road, Meerut Cantonment-250001
Telephone: 0121- 2642790

Explore more about Society in Meerut

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries